40K anyone?

Most, if all not virtually all, of my posts have been in regard to my endeavors around the Lord of the Rings game.  However, over the last year I’ve been feeling the pull towards Warhammer 40K.  I’ve been buying a few things here and there and the next thing I know, I have a near full blown Waaagh on my hands with Orks.  As I get close to finishing up my army and trip to Phoenix, I think my next project is going to get out there and build (and paint) a full fledged Ork army for 40K.

During this same time, my son is going to be starting to learn 40K (along with one of his friends).  He’s signed up to start the Academy Program at one of our local Games Workshop stores.  He’s been looking through the army books and has settled on Chaos Space Marines.  I thought for sure he’d pick Tyranids but in the end, the access to both monsters and “tanks” won out and he’s settled on Chaos Space Marines.  His friend is building up classic SMs so they should have fun bashing each other in.

In the near future, I hope to expand this blog to cover both of our forrays into 40K.  So you’ll see being seeing both Mordor Orcs and 40K Orks.  I’m definitely looking forward to getting my Mek’s tools out and starting my Waaaagh.  I hope to bring a little Lord of the Rings flair to my own 40K projects.  More to come!

P.S.  New on advanced order are the new Ork Deff Dread and Killa Kanz.  I couldn’t resist and I pre-ordered both of them.

4 Responses to “40K anyone?”

  1. It’s “OK” to also play W40K 🙂 ….

    Good for the both of you, I hope the two of you have fun. Since 5th Edition came out, I really enjoy playing 40K more than any other game system (yes even LOTR). My son and I are also going to try 40K Skirmish using Tim’s rules….

  2. Brent,

    I think you will have a blast playing 40K, Rob & I do here in the valley. Also I am planning on expanding GitD to include 40K next year! So you will still have the opportunity to come to Phoenix. A few of us here are even thinking of entering the 40K Team event at Adepticon 2011, hmm maybe we need to include you…

  3. We are definitely excited to get started on this. Obviously its much easier to find opponents for 40K so I’m hoping that my gaming time in general increases as well.

    Once we get going in with the 5th ed rules, I hope to add in some Combat Patrol style games (smaller points totals being easier to manage). I could see extending to these skirmish rules as well.

  4. jonathanrbaker Says:

    I enjoy games of 40K, although I much prefer friendly games to tournaments. I wish you the best of luck on your new endeavor!

    JRB
    “Erunion”

Leave a Reply

