Building the Unexpected Party

Wow, way to long between blog posts…  I know many people promise this but I’m going to try and post more frequently over the next few months.  All my primary 2009 tournament events have been completed and I’ve started to look towards 2010.  I’m looking at trying to make my 2010 tournaments more about fun/themed armies and no worry as much about their level of competitiveness.  Well at least I’m saying that right now, we’ll see how things go if I start getting my brains beat in.

First up in 2010 is the Gathering in the Desert which is an annual tournament organized by my friends Tim and Dean.  This is a very hardcore LOTR tournament with a ton of excellent players and painters.  I’ve wanted to try something new for a while and I know that I’ve blogged about this in the past.  I’m planning on playing an army based around the theme from The Hobbit – Thorin’s Company, aka, the Unexpected Party.  My plan is to have all 13 Dwarves, Bilbo, and Gandalf.  Given that it is such a small army, I really want to do something special with the hobby piece of it.  I’m going to convert each and every model for this army and hopefully, if I’m stick up to my end of the bargain, I’ll document the whole process on the blog here.

Here are some early WIPs of the first few dwarves.  For the most part, I haven’t decided already which dwarf will be represented by which model yet.  My goal is to have 3 dwarf heroes (Thorin, Balin, and Gloin), 8 Iron Guard, and 1 Dwarf Warrior with a banner. 

Photobucket
This model represents one of the Iron Guard. They are based on Ranger Models as Thorin’s company is described as wearing caps, hoods, and robes. However, to make the combat effective, I used the most elite dwarf warrior profile I could use – the Iron Guard. I like to think of the Iron Guard as the armored rangers anyway! This particular model was a simple conversion using a Dwarf Ranger and the left arm from Gimli from the Mines of Moria set.

Photobucket
This model is another of the iron guard. He was converted to hold a different Axe. I also added sculpting putty (ProCreate) to create some new hair for the model. The rangers are cool sculpts but some of them are lacking a bit of detail. Sorry, not the best picture of these.

Photobucket
This model is a third in the Iron Guard Series. He’s started as an Iron Guard body with a Ranger head transplant. A lot of putty was used to try and blend in the hood with the tunic and beard.

Photobucket
This is Dwarf Warrior. Eventually he’ll be holding a banner as well. He’s going to represent Bombue. The fattest and most comical of Thorin’s company. Hopefully I’ll find some way to put some extra life into this model. He’ll certainly be bulked up to have the most girth.

finally, in addition to the dwarves, I’ve put together a simple conversion for Biblo. Just a quick headswap with Bilbo and Frodo.
Photobucket

Hopefully, much more to come in future days!!

Leave a Reply

